2013 Post-Secondary Scholarship Winners

ILAA Awards Scholarships to College-Bound Students with Hearing Impairment

The ILAA Post-Secondary Scholarship Committee is pleased to announce this year’s award recipients. The Committee awarded Eleanor Greer a first place, $1,000 scholarship and Taylor Knapp a second place $500

Eleanor Greer recently graduated from Heritage High School in Broadlands, IL and will be attending Parkland Pathway to the University of Illinois. She plans on obtaining a Bachelor’s degree in Elementary Education, Early Childhood, or Deaf Education. Her dream is to teach kindergarten or pre-school. Eleanor has a profound hearing loss and utilizes a cochlear implant. In her essay she wrote the following regarding her hearing loss: "I know others may view my hearing loss as a disability, but I am starting to look at it as an ability. Because I have worked hard to listen, I have become a better listener. Sometimes, I think I listen better than my hearing peers. Just because you have perfect hearing doesn’t make you a good listener. Hearing and listening are two different things. I have learned to listen with compassion and I care about other people’s feelings, which is a great quality to have as a teacher. For me, silence is not golden, and I love having been given the chance to hear and to listen.”


Taylor Knapp, recently graduated from Maine South High School in Park Ridge, IL. He will be attending Central Michigan University in the fall where he plans on pursuing a degree in Physical Therapy. Taylor reportedly lost his hearing when he was one and half years old and received a cochlear implant when he was two years old. In Taylor’s essay, he describes his cochlear implant and his ability to speak and hear as his “gift of sound”. He wrote he is excited to pursue a Physical Therapy degree because, “After receiving my gift and overcoming my own physical disability, I want to help others overcome their physical obstacles and achieve their goals. I can relate in a special way to help them succeed. I understand, first hand, how to be motivated and determined against all odds.”


Thank you to the following Post Secondary Scholarship Committee members for their hard work: Kristine Erickson, Au.D., Therese Jezuit, Au.D., Ginger Mullin, Au.D., Barbara Murphy, M.A.; Barbara Rezabek, M.A. (Chair); and, Jay Sheehan, PhD. A special thanks goes to Danica Billingsly, Au.D. who put all our forms online which allowed students to access and submit their application material online for the first time! Thank you also to the many ILAA members who continue to support this program by telling their colleagues, patients and students about this scholarship opportunity. 


ILAA, 275 N. York Street, Ste 401, Elmhurst, IL 60126  
Phone: 630-833-4220  Toll-free: 1.800.963.ILAA
Site Usage Policy / Privacy Statement

LIKE US on Facebook
TALK WITH US on Facebook



Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software